What are the 16 qualities of love and what do they look like in day-to-day life? This series examines each of the qualities of agapÄ“-love in 1 Corinthians 13. 

It might surprise you that nine of these qualities are negative—what love is not

The aim is to better understand and practice each characteristic. In other words, how to express these qualities in your attitudes and relationships with others.

Here's what a couple of people wrote about this series:

Thank you for your last post on the qualities of love. It was been an awesome series. I think it is a very worthy goal to love like Jesus. ... The link was also very helpful. I listened to them all. Looking forward to your next series! (J.H.)

Thanks John, for the way you spread the subject all over the table, for an uncluttered survey of the core. And I love the way verse 8 pronounces the irreversible verdict: 'Love never fails!' (J.F.)

In the end, the resonating question is, “How can I love like Jesus?”

That question is answered, at least in part, by the next series, which explores the person and activities of the Holy Spirit.

Here are the episodes in the order in which they were presented – simply click on the title to go to the post. At the end of each post, you will find a link that takes you to the next post.      

1.  5 Helpful Principles for Better Word Studies: Preparing to understand agapÄ“-love 

2.  Love is Patient, Love is Kind

3.  Love is not ...

4.  2 More Things Love is Not

5.  Antidote for Relational Poisons

6.  Love Does Not Delight in Evil but Rejoices with the Truth

7.  What it Means for Love to Bear All Things and Endure All Things

8.  Love Believes All Things

9.  Love Hopes All Things

10. Love Never Fails


Photo credit: From the Mindanao Times February 19, 2021.